Members and Colleagues,
On June 6th, 2014, Governor John Hickenlooper signed Senate Bill 14-133 into law. This new law is the culmination of nearly 40 years of effort by the Professional Private Investigators Association of Colorado (PPIAC) – as well as some professionals outside of this organization – to bring mandatory licensing to the State of Colorado.
Before I address what the law may mean to each of you, I want to personally thank each person that has had a hand in bringing us to this point, beginning with the founders of our organization. It has been a monumental effort, passed on over the years from Chair to Chair, President to President, Board to Board and member to member. Regardless of any past successes or failures, each of you that has championed licensure in the past has had a hand in this effort and should take credit in getting us to this point.
The new law creates a mandatory requirement that every person obtain a license who is conducting private investigations in Colorado, and has a compliance date June 1, 2015. This law effects all persons who are conducting private investigations, regardless of whether their practice is full time or part time. The law also effects anybody whose main practice is engaged in other areas – but may occasionally offer investigative services to their clients.
There are some professionals that have been granted a specific exemption to the licensing requirement, and if you are unclear as to whether you need a license to practice or conduct a private investigation (regardless of how small the job may be), I encourage you to contact us and ask whether the law effects you or your practice.
Currently, the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is creating the rules and requirements of the license, and expects to be in a position to accept applications for licenses by the end of 2014. While the exact rules and requirements will be developed over the coming months, you can expect three things:
1. You will be required to submit to and pass a fingerprint based background check;
2. You will be required to take and pass a jurisprudence examination concerning the laws pertaining to private investigations; and
3. You will be required to obtain a surety bond (or show proof that you are covered by a surety bond).
There is also a lot of interest regarding the cost of the license. While that amount will be determined over the coming months, we do know that this will be based upon the total number of licensees, and we expect the license fee to be somewhere in the neighborhood of approximately $300.
PPIAC, as an organization, is now prepared to offer all private investigators assistance in preparing for the licensing law. We are developing specific programs to help members and non-members obtain their license. This includes preparing for the jurisprudence examination, referrals for bonding, or simply answering questions you may have about the law.
I encourage every member to take advantage of these programs, and I especially encourage any professional that is not a member to consider joining the PPIAC to stay abreast of requirements and to take advantage of the benefits of our organization.
I also encourage all private investigators that may not have supported this effort to accept and embrace the new law. This new law will allow our industry to engage in conversations with lawmakers, custodians of public record and stakeholders across Colorado concerning our industry and the credential you will soon carry. As private investigators, we will all soon have one common denominator – our license – and we can work together to be recognized as a credentialed group and a united voice concerning issues that impact our industry and our ability to practice our trade. In the end, it will benefit us all and allow us to more effectively service our clients.
In closing, again, my sincere thanks to all that have had a hand in bringing this effort to fruition. Your tireless efforts have not gone unnoticed.
Chairman Of The Board
Professional Private Investigators Association of Colorado